Nov 17, 2020 03:00pm - Nov 18, 2020 05:00pm

AHCA/NCAL Bronze Award: Begin Your Quality Journey

November Webinar Series

A virtual event provided by Massachusetts Senior Care Association and multi-state affiliates of AHCA/NCAL 

VIRTUAL EVENT: This workshop will be held virtually on Zoom over the duration of two days November 17 and November 18. Participation in both sessions is required. Sessions will be held from 3-5 pm ET.  Participants will be required to participate on camera and audio.

WORKSHOP DESCRIPTION: Massachusetts Senior Care Association, in partnership with several state affiliates, presents a BRONZE Quality Award virtual workshop series to help you complete the Bronze Award application from beginning to end with coaching support along the way from expert facilitators. This workshop is about more than an award; besides gaining a better understanding of what examiners are looking for and how to use the award criteria as an improvement tool, you will learn how to use the award process to focus, align, and accelerate your performance excellence efforts - becoming a high-performing organization.

ABOUT THE AWARD: ​The Bronze Award - Commitment to Quality is the first level in your performance excellence journey. The goal of this award is to provide applicants with the tools and resources they need to achieve performance improvement.

SUGGESTED PARTICIPANTS: Suggested participants for this workshop are administrators or executive directors and directors of nursing, admission coordinators, along with other leadership team members - including owners. A team approach is the most effective method to develop your application in a manner that makes it your “management document,” and not just an award application.

OBJECTIVES: Understand the AHCA/NCAL Bronze Quality Award process. Gain an understanding of the value of participating in the Quality Award process. Go “behind the scenes” of the assessment process to understand what examiners are looking for and why this is important -beyond an award application. Understand the technical requirements and policies of the Bronze Quality Award process. Understand how quality improvement activities build a culture of continuous improvement and high- performance work teams. Write the draft of your organization’s Bronze Quality Award application. ​

CEUs: 4 The Massachusetts Senior Care Association has qualified for “deemed status #NH-09015-007” from the Board of Registration of Nursing Home Administrators for Administrators.  This program also meets continuing education requirements for Nurses in Massachusetts.  All paid attendees will receive certificate of attendance.


Glenn Bodinson, FACHE, founded BaldrigeCoach to help organizations improve their performance. BaldrigeCoach clients have won 23 Baldrige Awards. In the past nine years, 20 AHCA/NCAL Gold Quality Award recipients and more than 75 AHCA/NCAL Silver Award recipients have used the BaldrigeCoach​ system. ​

Kay Kendall spent more than 20 years as a quality executive leading large-scale change initiatives across diverse industries. From 2002 through 2005, Kay served on the Panel of Judges for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Program after serving as an Examiner and Senior Examiner for the Program for six years.She continues to serve as a Master Examiner for the program. She has been a facilitator of the national training for examiners since 1998. She was a Master Examiner and Team Leader for the AHCA/NCALQuality Award from 2011 – 2015.

Workshop Fee: $50 per person    

This webinar series is open to AHCA/NCAL Members Only.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: Registration is limited to AHCA/NCAL members Registration is non-refundable, however substitutions are allowed up to 48 hours before the program.  Participation in this workshop does NOT guarantee award/renewal receipt by AHCA/NCAL

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE 2020 AHCA/NCAL NATIONAL BRONZE QUALITY AWARD? Providers who are or will be members in good standing with AHCA or NCAL at the time of application are eligible to apply. Those who are members in good standing at the time of award notification are eligible to receive the award and the associated feedback report. Skilled nursing facilities, assisted living communities, campus settings. Campus settings with multiple levels of services may elect to apply for the entire campus as one or may elect to apply independently for each level of service. Skilled nursing facilities must have completed at least one Medicare/Medicaid survey.      

2020 Educational Partner